Lesotho’s Electoral Commission registers 21 parties for poll contest

Maseru- Lesotho’s Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) is expecting 21 political parties and 15 independent candidates to battle it out in the February 28 2015 parliamentary elections.

As at December 24 2014, the IEC had a list of political parties’ and independent candidates’ election symbols which are to feature on the ballot papers in the legislative election brought forward from the 2017.

Among the political parties, four major players are the Democratic Congress (DC), All Basotho Convention (Abc), Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) and the Basotho National Party (BNP).

Featuring among the new entrants are the Progressive Democrats, the African Union Movement, Lesotho Congress of Democracy’s breakaway Reformed Congress of Lesotho and the White Horse Party.

A surprise entrant is also the Basotho Batho Democratic Congress whose leader Jeremane Ramathebane has come under the spotlight after facing charges of fraud through alleged misrepresentation when his party registered for the 2012 general poll.

The case is still pending in court.

According to the National Assembly General Elections Timetable for the forthcoming voting, the nomination forms for candidates is January 5-6 2015 while such names are to be submitted on January 7-9 2015 for posting of the constituency candidacy lists.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: